In The Chair 73

Welcome, Luccia Gray.

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_nHow would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Luccia: Imagery. Dialogue. Multi-layered.

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Luccia: Michael, of course, but he wouldn’t be interested! He’s the main character throughout The Eyre Hall Trilogy, but he is so in love with and devoted to my heroine that he would never ever be unfaithful or disloyal to her. He’s an ‘I will but love thee better after death’ type of man. A mixture of Gabriel Oak (Far From the Madding Crowd) and Captain Wentworth (Persuasion) and Pip (Great Expectations).

Luccia Gray AuthorIf you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Luccia: In spite of the harshness of a servant’s life in Victorian England, I’d love to be a maid at Eyre Hall. I’d enjoy listening to the gossip, taking part in daily routines and activities, and watching the masters’ lives unfold. It would be mind-blowing to experience first-hand knowledge of the characters upstairs and downstairs. However a week would be enough, perhaps even too much!

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

shutterstock_140166406Luccia: I’d like to listen to Charlotte Bronte and Jean Rhys discussing Bertha Mason, the madwoman in the attic created by Charlotte Bronte in Jane Eyre, and whose life story was told in the prequel, Wide Sargasso Sea (Jean Rhys). Then I’d tell them about her daughter, Annette Mason, and the rest of my sequel. None of us have big appetites, especially when we’re chatting, so I’d prepare lots of varied, bite-sized ‘tapas’, which we would nibble while sitting in my sunny Spanish garden. We’d wash it all down with chilled Rueda (Spanish white wine). Finally we’d have some hand-made chocolates, ice-cream and champagne for dessert.

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

bronte charlotte edmund B20084 21Luccia: I’ve written a neo-Victorian Trilogy, which could be classified as a gothic romance, so my first three novels have been historical.
I’m not sure what I’ll be writing next. I’d love to write more Victorian novels, but if I had to write in a different genre, which I may well do, I’d write a contemporary gothic romance.
I can’t see myself writing a novel that doesn’t include mystery, suspense, romance, and a gothic aspect.
 

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Luccia: There’s actually nothing I dislike about being an author.
There are aspects I enjoy more, like creating, imagining, research and writing. I have fun with my blog, Facebook, and Twitter, and I love interacting with other authors, bloggers and readers. There are other aspects such as editing, and re-re-editing, which I find more tiresome, but I love the end product, so in the end it’s satisfying. I suppose marketing, advertising and promoting are difficult, because I don’t know the ropes well enough, but it’s fun too.
My greatest challenge is finding the time to write and do all the things related to being a writer, such as research, networking, advertising, writing and editing.

Favourite word? 

Luccia: Kindle. I think this word, which is just a few years old, has transformed reading and writing. It’s affected what we read, where we read, and how we read. It’s also given self-published authors an opportunity to showcase and sell their work in the previously constrained publishing world. 

Luccia Gray was in the chair, author of the Eyre Hall trilogy

Web: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Luccia-Gray/e/B00K34F28I/

My Trilogy

6 thoughts on “In The Chair 73

Leave a Reply

