In The Chair 71

Welcome, Claire L Brown

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_nHow would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Claire: From the heart.

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Claire: Probably, Henry Conrad Taylor from Jonah Axe and the Weeping Bride. He’s an English gent taken out of his time and now travels through history ‘fixing’ things. He’s got an amazing heart and drive to do good, he’s a little stubborn when he’s wrong but he’s growing with every challenge that comes his way. He’s honest and trustworthy and really good-looking!

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Claire: I’m an observer and I’m constantly watching stories in my mind, it’s how I write the books play out like movies in my head.  I’m not really the center of attention type of person, but I think I can be quite strong willed when I believe in something.  So I guess I’d be a bit like Sky in The Poppy Garden, she takes care of everyone putting them first and fighting for what she wants in the long term despite the compromises and hard work it takes along the way.

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Sharing-roast-beef-and-yorkshire-puddingClaire: I love to cook, I think I’d do a traditional Roast beef dinner with Yorkshire Puddings! I would love to chat to some of my favorite authors, Agatha Christie, Gaston Lerox, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Shakespeare. It would be amazing to discuss writing with them and how they lived as authors. I would also love to invite Julian Fellowes and Lucy Worsley, as I love their historical outlook.

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Claire: My latest novel The Poppy Garden is a departure for me. It’s not a story I intended to write, but it was an idea that wouldn’t stop niggling at me. So I started writing a romantic drama, which isn’t really my style. Its been extremely challenging and it’s taken a lot for me to see it through. I hope readers like it and that I’ve captured the elements of the genre the best way I can. I hope to publish the The Poppy Garden in the autumn so I guess I’ll find out how well I’ve managed a genre that’s outside my comfort zone soon enough!     

IMG_1665What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Claire: I read a lot of social media articles about how people want books for free.   You wouldn’t go to a restaurant and expect not to pay for your meal.  But a lot of people expect authors to give away their work despite the time, effort, love, sweat and tears that goes in to arranging those words in that way to entertain the mind and the heart. It almost feels like creative works have lost so much value over the years, which to me is an extremely sad situation to be in.

Favourite word? Claire: Serendipity

Claire L Brown was in the chair, author of: Jonah Axe & the Weeping Bride, and Draco.

Web: http://amzn.to/1L86LHd

12814661_534920023355553_684046953488081262_n

Leave a Reply

