In The Chair 67

Welcome, John Evans.

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_nHow would you describe your writing style in only three words?

John: Quick, relaxed, fluid.

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

John: I guess the character I would most like to spend time with would be Doctor Mantle. Having grown up without a biological father and then never giving my step-father the chance to take that role until it was far too late, I guess Doctor Mantle represents to me all of those things that I feel I may have missed from a fatherly figure.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

John: This would have to be my second book “Fool In The Ring” which is released this April. The book is set primarily on a travelling circus, which is something I know very well, having spent two years of my life working in the same environment. My personality wouldn’t allow me to be in the background, in some shape or form, I would absolutely have to be involved.

exps9540_BEP1338233D9BDead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

John: Dennis Wheatley, Michael Moorcock, Graham Masterton, J.R.R.Tolkein, David Eddings. I would probably cook myself as I love being in the kitchen. The food itself would more than likely have a distinctly Italian feel, lots of pasta and seafood.

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

John: Fantasy would be my next literary exploration, and it is probably one I will explore once this series is completed. Most of my early childhood memories revolve around playing Role-play games, Dungeons & Dragons and the like. I’ve always loved losing myself in another world, another environment. Plus, from a literary perspective, I find them much easier to write, fewer restrictions, less research, you can just get lost in the story-telling.

1What do you dislike the most about being an author?

John: Press (specifically newspapers) and public appearances. I have a deep seated distrust of both local and national press agencies, so much so that I choose to have absolutely nothing to do with them. I am also a deeply private person which is why I don’t include author details or photographs on my book covers.

Favourite word?

John: I don’t believe I have a favourite word, I simply love language, and not just English. I speak fluent German and Swiss-German and have a smattering of other European languages in my knowledge base. They all have their own distinct beauty and musicality to them.

John Evans was in the chair, author of: An Unwilling Recruit.

“The Unwilling Recruit” is scheduled for release November 15th 2016 by Topshelf Publishing and is available now for pre-order: www.TheUnwillingRecruit.com

banner with web address and eye

 

4 thoughts on “In The Chair 67

Leave a Reply

