In The Chair 66

Welcome, Jane Donovan.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Jane: Humorous, quirky, irreverent.

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_nIf you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Jane: If I were a child, it would definitely be Esme. I’d relish doing mischievous things with her. But as an adult, I’d want to have a relationship with Papuza. Papua’s character was strongly drawn from my mother, who passed away not long ago. So if I could hang out with Papuza, it would be like spending time with my mother again, which would be lovely.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Jane: I’d try my best to stand by the sidelines, but knowing me, I’d be in the thick of things within a couple of pages, giving unsolicited advice and attempting to play matchmaker for my poor unsuspecting characters.

IMG_6848Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Jane: I’d invite Mark Twain, Tom Robbins, Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Garrison Keillor, and Emily Dickinson. I hope the gentlemen would loosen up Emily a bit and make her laugh. Now THAT I would love to see! Since my house is constantly in chaos, I would build a big bonfire outside, and we would roast hot dogs under the stars. And if I were feeling particularly flush that week, I would even go all out for a bag of marshmallows.

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Jane: I’d write Horror! A spine-chilling “can’t close your eyes or go to the bathroom by yourself” sort of book.

JaneDonovanWhat do you dislike the most about being an author?

Jane: Public appearances. They give me high anxiety. And when I’m nervous I become very klutzy, but far worse than that, the darnedest things fly right out of my mouth, causing me great embarrassment.

Favourite word? Jane: My favorite word to speak is “sassafras.” My favorite word to write is “the” because it’s short, and I never spell it incorrectly. My favorite word for its content is “uxorious.”

Jane Donovan was in the chair: co-author of “Esme Dooley” published by Sky Candle Press: myBook.to/EsmeDooley

 

One thought on “In The Chair 66

Leave a Reply

