In The Chair 61

Merry Christmas, Joanne Phillips!

SantaToymakerChair

How would you describe your Christmas in only three words? Joanne: Snuggly. Sparkly. Relaxing.

If you could have a relationship with a literary festive character who would it be and why? Joanne: I think it would have to be a deep friendship with the Ghost of Christmas Present – I have a tendency to live either to much in the past, worrying about what I did or didn’t get right, or too much in the future, worrying about what’s yet to come. At Christmas I need to learn to live in the ‘now’ and just enjoy the moment.

MiracleOn34thStreet_1947_315x236If you had to exist for a week in a Christmas story … which one would it be? Joanne: Something uplifting like the film A Miracle on 34th Street for me, with snow and tinsel and New York streets and people rushing home for the holidays with armfuls of brightly wrapped presents.

Dead or alive literary Christmas lunch: who would you invite, and what would you serve?  Joanne: Sorry, but it’s just me and my family for Christmas lunch, I don’t care how literary you are. This year I’m serving traditional turkey with all the trimmings – yummy!

If you had to write a Christmas themed story in your current genre, what would the title be? Joanne: Maybe ‘The Tinsel Tragedy’? or how about ‘The Fairy Light Fiasco’? Yes, I think I’ll incorporate that into my Flora Lively series – Flora Lively and the Fairy Light Fiasco. Perfect.

What do you dislike the most about Christmas? Joanne: Travelling. My husband’s family live a long way away and although it is, of course, wonderful to see them, it is a horrible time of year to tackle the motorways.

Favourite festive word? Joanne: Sherry

Joanne Phillips was in the Christmas chair. Author of several romance titles and the Flora Lively mystery series. 

11659341_716741195096991_4823744895202342801_n

Web: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Joanne-Phillips/e/B0083UEG86/

Leave a Reply

