In The Chair 53

Merry Christmas, Juliet Greenwood!

SantaToymakerChair

How would you describe your Christmas in only three words? Juliet: Quiet, peaceful, reflective.

If you could have a relationship with a literary festive character who would it be and why? Juliet: It would be Scrooge, just because he learns to enjoy life, and the simple pleasures of good food and family and those you love. And he learns to enjoy Christmas too!

If you had to exist for a week in a Christmas story … which one would it be?

Juliet: It would have to be Narnia of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. As a child, I loved the ice-bound world struggling between good and evil – and I’d love to have Christmas with Mr and Mrs Beaver.

cerdyn-nadolig-portmeirion-33268-blaen-550

If I’m being very cheeky, I would say it was a magazine short story by my good friend Heather Pardoe (okay, yes she is me), which was set in Portmeirion at Christmas. Just because I would love to spend a week in Portmeirion – and Christmas there would be magical! (I’ve twisted Heather’s arm, and she’s putting it up on her website for Christmas).

Dead or alive literary Christmas lunch: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Juliet: George Elliot (except I’d probably faint with adoration), Elizabeth Gaskell (I love ‘Wives and Daughters’), and Agatha Christie – nothing like a good murder mystery at Christmas!

3e3e35448d056914ee6f1f6119fa5ae5What would I serve? Mmm, well I’m not sure I’d be popular. I’m a lifelong vegetarian, so haven’t a clue about cooking a traditional Christmas dinner. I can do salmon (as long as it comes in a packet) for starters. I do a mean chestnut and cashew roast, carrots in white sauce, and sprouts and chestnuts in garlic butter. Followed by Christmas pudding and brandy sauce. And plenty of homemade sloe gin. That will keep them all happy, and knock them out before anyone can start a fight. (I’ve lived through many Christmasses …..)

If you had to write a Christmas themed story in your current genre, what would the title be?  Juliet: ‘The Lost Christmas Rose Garden’. Although Heather (who’s into cozy crime) would probably insist on ‘The Body in the Lost Christmas Rose Garden’.

What do you dislike the most about Christmas? Juliet: Explaining what vegetarians eat for Christmas dinner, and that it’s not sackcloth and ashes but really rather nice – and leaves more room for pudding afterwards!! When I was a kid, there were fourteen or more of the extended family sitting down to a veggie dinner, and none of us felt deprived, and you don’t have to get up at dawn, and isn’t it about sharing what you love to eat with those you love to be with, in the darkness of midwinter, rather than a competition in perfection?

Juliet's AngelFavourite Festive Word?  Juliet: In Dulce Jubilo

Because I loved singing carols when I was little, and I loved the sound of that. It always has the ring of Christmas (yes, I know it’s three words, but it always sounded like one to me).

Julia Greenwood was in the Christmas chair: Author of: We That Are Left & Eden’s Garden.

Web: http://www.julietgreenwood.co.uk/

6 thoughts on “In The Chair 53

  1. Hi Juliet, lovely to find out more about you, I’ve read We That Are Left and really enjoyed it. Meeting Scrooge sounds good too and I do agree that Christmas shouldn’t be about “the perfect meal” but about being together.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is a lovely one, Jan and Juliet! I am still transfixed by the Narnian winter and long to be there (see my post on the 15th, Juliet!!). I have been known to fantasise about staying the night in the Beavers’ house when escaping evil. Yeah, okay, that’s weird…. I agree about Portmeirion too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

