In The Chair 50

Welcome, Jane Risdon

How would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Jane:  Fast-paced, twisty, realistic.

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_nIf you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Jane: This is a hard one. Most of my characters are criminals and I am not gay, so having a relationship with the divine Ms B (Birdsong) is a no-go area. Having given it a lot of thought, I think I might well go for Ms Birdsong Investigates and her ex-lover and ex-MI6 partner, Michael Dante. He and she have had a long relationship which was rocky to begin when he was first seconded to MI5 for a series of operations, however, it quickly developed into a passionate and mutually respectful partnership, which ended violently when Ms B was ‘voluntarily’ retired from The Service when an operation they were involved in, went belly-up. She ended up in rural Ampney Parva with time on her hands. He was sent to Moscow.
Michael is confident, ruthless, and devious. He is drop dead gorgeous, but knows it, with a wicked glint in his eye. He loved to tease her, they rowed passionately and often, but he always knew if it came down to it, she’d have his back and he would (and almost has, many times) die for her. In-spite of his seeming arrogance, he is really down to earth and fun, but deadly serious about his work. I like him a lot and I guess if I had to tangle with one of my characters, it would be him; though DCI Luke Wareham would be an understudy.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

image1Jane: Difficult one. I’m not sure if I’d last five minutes in one of my crime/thrillers, unless I had the training and skills Lavinia Birdsong has. I’ve spent my life in music in a mainly male world, and I can get into a young male musician’s head so well having babysat so many of them, for decades, so I’d have to exist as a central character in one of my music related stories, such as Only One Woman – co-written with Christina Jones and scheduled for publication January 2016. I might like to be Scott, the lead guitarist in Narnia’s Children, as he manages to have two young women madly in love with him, whilst playing the field with all the ‘groupies,’ he can handle, and enjoying all the benefits at the expense of the two love-struck women closest to him. That might be fun – I’d get the slim hips and turquoise eyes! For once this is not a crime/thriller so I would get out alive unlike some of the women in my books, who don’t. A week on tour with Scott, possibly in Switzerland, hob-nobbing with Richard Burton and Liz Taylor, or in other exotic places in the late 1960s, with all that he experienced back then, might be fun to try. What could be more exciting than the Swinging Sixties and all that conjures up!

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

powderham-castle-ph-rinuskool

Jane: Oh God! Where to start. I hope I can have a huge dinner party (I always love them the most), in a very old castle with enormous grounds. It would be a summer evening and the garden and banqueting rooms would flow into each other. The grounds would be lit by lighting designers, and fountains would gently tinkle as a background to the conversations. We’d have piped music by various guests playing not too loudly so people can’t hear. Some guests might even get up and perform when the Port and Cheese is served later on. It would be a buffet, so my guests could move around freely, chatting, eating, drinking and sitting in the gardens, or in the deep sofas and armchairs dotted around the rooms. Chill out zones would be set aside for the older guests or those wanting a breather. No smoking would be the rule.
I’d serve Crystal champagne and other fine wines. There’d be Oysters, with an ice sculpture centre-piece on the main table, with every shell fish imaginable, lobster and caviar. A selection of meats and sausages, cheeses from all over the world, a variety of vegetarian and vegan foods, as well as lots of salads; hot and cold, and huge variety of fresh bread and rolls. Wild boar would be roasting with jacket potatoes, outside on the terrace. Deserts would be plentiful including fresh fruit and sorbet; ice creams from Italy. Desert wines would be offered. Guests would be served by waiting staff, though they could help themselves from a bar with every alcoholic or other beverage they could wish for. My kind of entertaining.
BeatlesLet’s see, guests: I’d have to have Professor Brian Cox, Stephen Hawkin, Patrick Moore, Carl Sagan, Einstein – I love their intellect and knowledge and I can drive them mental with all my questions. Leonard Da Vinci too – what a brain and talent. I’d love Daphne Du Maurier, Agatha Christie, Kathy Reichs, Karin Slaughter and Tess Gerritsen with former MI5 Chief, Dame Stella Rimmington, to be there, as well as Peter James, Peter Robinson, Michael Connolly, Jeffrey Deaver, John Le Carre and Frederick Forsythe. Oh and I can’t forget Doris Day, Sarah Vaughan and Nina Simone. Also Elvis Presley, Katherine Hepburn, Margaret Rutherford, Howard Keel and David Niven. There’d be Alan J Lerner, Rogers, Hart, and Hammerstein, Irvin Berlin and both Gershwins. The Bee Gees, The Who, Led Zeppelin, The Kinks, and The Beatles, but John would have to keep a low profile. Aretha Franklin, Whitney, and Maria Carey too. I would love to chat with Prince Charles so he would be there too. Dress would be for cocktails.

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Jane: Well I write mainly crime but I have also wandered into ghost stories and what I call, observational humour. Only One Woman is leaning towards romance and I never thought I’d write a romance. I am not a romantic person. I enjoy observing the world and writing humour, and I think I’d love to write more; so I shall say humour.

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Jane: I love writing provided technology works. But really I just want to think my stories and they appear. I hate the physical writing by hand/typing. I dislike editing and although having my work edited is fraught with stress for me, I’d glad of an editor. I just wish I didn’t have to do any of it. I hate checking everything endlessly after I’ve written anything – I should be used to going over and over things because in the recording studio that is just what you do…forever and ever and….! I guess record companies and publishers etc. have all left their scars…and I was the manager, not the artist!

Favourite word? Jane: Discombobulated.

Jane Risdon was in the chair, contributing author to several short story compilations. Published by Accent Press.

10403564_722179331202241_6746167928955039087_n 

Web: http://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B00I3GJ2Y8

22 thoughts on “In The Chair 50

  1. Love it! You sound such fun, Jane! And I love your music tastes. Wow, could almost be mine (note the almost…haha). I think I’ll have to put you on my TBR list too. Crime with a bit of humour? Just up my street…and I would never write anything at all if I had to do it by hand, so we have that in common too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah thanks so much Val. I am glad you and time to pop over, what with all your woodworm and stuff! Yes a wide ranging taste in music – from thrash to Strauss and more. I do have a wicked sense of humour, sometimes misunderstood, but I am getting to the point in life when actually don’t really care. Good luck with the barge bottom and I hope you keep afloat. Thanks so much. Jx 🙂

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on Jane Risdon and commented:
    Thanks to Jan Ruth for interviewing me in The Chair this week. Who would I invite to a dinner party? What would we eat? Which of my characters would I like to be? There are castles, celebrities and champers….hope you enjoy this. I did.

    Like

    1. Margot, I’ll do a re-run and you can come along with Joel Williams, your fab character, and we can look for secret rooms and priest holes and there might even be a murder! I am in deep you know what, for not inviting friends and family. I’ve told them to gate-crash. 🙂

      Like

  3. Your answers to the questions were interesting. It made me want to answer some of those questions myself.
    I feel discombobulated quite often myself. It’s a good word.
    Keep writing.
    Your Friend, writerdave

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ah Carol, thanks so much for popping in and leaving a comment. I know you are patiently awaiting the divine Ms B – she has been lagging behind everything else but I am getting there. So far 80,000 words written and only another 30,000 to go after several re-writes. She has undergone a lot since leaving MI5 and going to rural Ampney Parva, but she is having adventures and keeping both Michael Wareham and DCI Wareham just where she likes them. I really hope that early next year she will come up for air. I’ll update you. Thanks so much. Value your patience and interest ❤

      Like

  4. Ah Carol, thanks so much for popping in and leaving a comment. I know you are patiently awaiting the divine Ms B – she has been lagging behind everything else but I am getting there. So far 80,000 words written and only another 30,000 to go after several re-writes. She has undergone a lot since leaving MI5 and going to rural Ampney Parva, but she is having adventures and keeping both Michael Wareham and DCI Wareham just where she likes them. I really hope that early next year she will come up for air. I’ll update you. Thanks so much. Value your patience and interest ❤

    Like

  5. Really enjoyed your interview Jane. Can I come to your party! Sounds fantastic and I could just wander round listening to all the conversations,the great music and just soak up the atmosphere (and a few glasses of bubbly).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gloria thanks so much, I should have asked you too…this is going to be a mega party by the time I have invited all those I was too distracted to invite as well. You’d love it I know. Glad you enjoyed the interview. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

