In The Chair 49

Welcome, Peter Best.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Pete: Uncomplicated, powerful and inspirational.

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_nIf you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Pete: In The Burden of Truth there is a young Indian lady called Shanti. She’s a very wise, serene lady indeed. As Brent first meets her one of the first thoughts that enters his head is, There is certainly more than beauty about this girl! I loved writing about her; I loved writing about what her thoughts about life were and how she discussed them with Brent and how she made it all seem so uncomplicated. Shanti is simply a wonderful human being. 

However, I’d better not say so much about her as I have also written my wife into the story as one of the characters. So mum’s the word!

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Pete: As far as The Burden of Truth goes I would certainly watch from the outside. From the off many of the characters find themselves in an awful lot of trouble as the story unfolds. Much more trouble as I would like to find myself in. However, as the story concludes the protagonist Brent turns out to be deeper and more thoughtful in his own character. So if I were to exist as Brent, I guess the dose of wisdom he got from a Buddhist monk wouldn’t do me any harm either.

Peter Best black and whiteDead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Pete: Jo Nesbo as well as Steig Larson so I could listen to how they come up with fantastic plot lines. Dan Brown’s character Professor Langdon because he would probably find something interesting to talk about and I could ask him about Buddhist symbology just to make sure I got it right in The Burden of Truth. Now to balance it up a bit, Hillary Mantel simply because she seems to be an interesting person and Daphne du Maurier for the same reason. And to round it all up I would ask J.K Rowling because she could bring Harry Potter and Dumbledore along with her. Nothing better than a good magician for the after dinner entertainment! 

Now for the food, let me think! As I am probably the worst cook in the world I would ask somebody like Gordon Ramsey or Raymond Blanc to nip down to Tesco and buy whatever they need to knock up something nice and tasty. I’m sure they would do that for me! Oh and as for drinks! Saying that Gordon and Raymond are going to Tesco anyhow; Id ask them to bring back some beers and a couple of bottles wine. French of course as I wouldn’t like to upset Raymond now would I.           

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Pete: I think this would be a close call between science fiction and historical fiction. For some time I have been toying with the idea of writing an addendum of sorts to go with the Burden of Truth. A big part of the story is centered around a mysterious ornate box that was for many years kept in the hands of a Holy Yogi who lived in Northern India. This little piece that I am thinking of writing tells the story behind how this box got into the hands of the Yogi. All of this happens during the time of the Raj so hence the historical fiction genre.

I have got the plot line, characters, settings and the rest of it all in place. All I need to do now is start putting pen to paper. But for now I’ll just wait and see just wait as I have got loads of other stuff to get on with.

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Pete: The frustration of writer’s block! When everything is going well it’s great being a writer. Really there just isn’t anything better. However when things are not so good and the ideas stop flowing I get very frustrated indeed. I do have one or two tricks up my sleeve to help this, but every now and again they just don’t seem to work. The problem is that sometimes this can go on for weeks. Very annoying!

Favourite word? Pete: However, apparently I use it all the time. However, if I were to pick another word, I would say, “Incredulous.” Brilliant word!

Peter Best was in the chair, author of: The Burden of Truth.

11958271_415469498642218_3743196392745859384_o

Web: www.peterbestauthor.com

Authors: Fancy pulling out a chair? Send your answers to the same set of questions with a profile pic and one web link to jan@janruth.com

Leave a Reply

