In The Chair 47

Welcome, Mary Jeddore Blakney.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words? 

Mary: Conversational, character-driven, research-based.

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Mary: An alien military commander named Chegg, from Damage Control. I tried to make him a villain, but he wouldn’t let me. He’s strong, good-hearted and conflicted, and people like that fascinate me.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Mary: Could I pick which week it was, to lessen my chances of being killed? I think I’d be one of the aliens in Damage Control – just a minor character so I’d have plenty of time to explore the planet.

150429workingDead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Mary: Roddenberry, Tolkein, CS Lewis, Chaucer, Moses, the author of the Epic of Gilgamesh and the authors of the books on Atlantis that were lost in the library at Alexandria. I’d serve whatever sounded good to me that day, since I’d be the only one eating. At least, I don’t think dead people eat.

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Mary: Historical fiction. I love to read it, and if it’s done well, it’s very educational and relevant to modern life. Maybe someday I’ll do that, but right now there’s no historical period I know that well.

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Mary: Having to spend so much time not writing just because of that pesky thing called life.

A1U7WvVPTKL._SL1500_

Favourite Word?

Mary: Philology.

Mary Jeddore Blakney was in the chair: Author of ‘Damage Control’ & ‘Resist the Devil.’

Web: http://www.maryjeddoreblakney.com/

Authors: Fancy pulling out a chair? Send your answers to the same set of questions with a profile

Leave a Reply

