In The Chair 45

Welcome, Christoph Fischer.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words? 

Christoph: Compassionate. Character driven. Involved.

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Christoph: Robert Sheridan from CONDITIONED a principled, caring and intelligent man who is kind-hearted, idealistic and enlightened; an individualist who becomes attractive at second sight but then all the more disarming.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Christoph: So many of my books are set in war times, so I would chose CONDITIONED – It is set at a wedding with a colourful circle of friends who all more or less try to help each other.  I’d mingle happily with the characters but would also enjoy watching them sort things out their way.

922159_10151345337037132_1303709604_oDead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Christoph: Henry Miller, Charles Bukowsky, Virginia Wolfe, Ernest Hemingway, Arthur Miller and E.M Forster are the first names that sprang to my mind. They were all passionate writers and I would love to find out what they were like as people. As for food: I’d start with tomato and mozzarella salad, make vegetarian and chicken Thai curry and finish with chocolate mousse. Whiskeys and cigars are probably a must with these guys.
(I chose dead writers since I haven’t given up all hope that I might meet the live ones in my time.)

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Christoph: I’d love to write a good comedy. Laughter is so good for us and yet we don’t do it enough. I’m working on a humorous detective story but I’m worried that I have already written in too many different genres (historical fiction, contemporary family dramas and thrillers) to establish a solid enough ‘brand’

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Christoph: Telling people that my books are great. I wish readers could find that out on their own. I want them to be pleasantly surprised when they open my books rather than having to hold them at gun point just so that they buy my books.

51OSxd6QQeL._UY250_

Favourite word?

Christoph: Cwtch

Christoph Fischer was in the chair: Author of Conditions, The Gamblers, In Search of a Revolution, The Healer, Time to Let Go, The Three Nations Trilogy, Sebastian, The Black Eagle Inn. 

Web: http://www.christophfischerbooks.com/

Authors: Fancy pulling out a chair? Send your answers to the same set of questions with a profile pic and one web link to jan@janruth.com

8 thoughts on “In The Chair 45

  1. Lovely to find your blog, Jan Ruth. Christoph is one of my favorites, so I’m delighted to read this interview. I liked the question “If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be?” (LOL, wise choice from Christoph.) What a fun idea! (I’d better hurry and finish more books — not sure how well I would do with a week in Atonement, Tennessee. Ha!) Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also read Conditioned and loved it and I can see Christoph’s thinking on choosing that novel (I also read Sebastian but times were very hard there). A fascinating interview.

    Like

Leave a Reply

