In The Chair 44

Welcome, David Carner.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words? 

David: Minimalist, emotional, fun

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

David: I tell people all the time that John talks to me. John and I have a lot of similarities. While no one can be the introvert John is, and trust me I amped him up to 11 when I wrote him, I am very much an introvert. I am also very cagey in what I say to people in that I say something, knowing you’ll take it a certain way, but if you play the words back in your head you’ll see I really didn’t say what you think I said. If I could have a relationship with one, I guess it would be Sam. Sam accepts people for who they are. She doesn’t judge, and she deals with problems instead of assigning blame. Honestly I think she’s someone we should all try to strive and be like.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

David: I think my fifth book, Days Past, would be the one. In this book, I kind of do a prequel and tell the story of how the group of FBI agents first started working together. I would love to be a fly on the wall to watch everything that happened during their first case. This book is by far and away my favorite. I think I was doing my best writing, and the story was one that had been building within me for several years. When I wrote it, it was like I couldn’t get it down fast enough. I think the fact that it also features a character who is dead in current books (but still a pretty important character) is also one of the reasons I like it so much. In fact, I have more requests to write a book about her, and my 8th John Fowler novel will heavily feature Samantha Fowler.

dc001Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve? David: I would invite Sir Author Conan Doyle, Craig Johnson (who I have met at a book signing) and Robert B. Parker, and Steven King (his book, On Writing, is one of the reasons I finally decided to sit down and write). I would let Mr. Parker pick the menu and even prepare it if he wanted (long time readers of his Spenser series would understand why). I could invite many others, but these four are by far my favorites.

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

David: I guess I write mystery/detective, but I like to think I add a bit of romance, and comedy in each of my book. I actually am working on a children’s fantasy series with my daughter. While most of my books are fine for kids to read, they don’t really care about a who dunnit plot for adults. The best part about writing children’s fantasy is my daughter helping me. We both love watching Dr. Who, superhero movies, and she’s even accompanying me to the Star Wars movie that opens in December. While she’s a lot like me, we are very different, and we both like to bounce ideas off of each other. The series is tentatively called Crystalia, but we’ll see.

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

David:  Marketing.  I don’t like it, don’ want to do it, and frankly, I don’t do it well.  I enjoy the creating process, the research, and the hours alone with just me and my thoughts, but getting on social media, or even in front of people and talking about my work…that’s just not me.

Favourite word? David: Cabal.

5104FMhgAdL._SX384_BO1,204,203,200_

David Carner was in the chair, author of: several novels & short-stories.

Web: http://ow.ly/SoTTM

Authors: Fancy pulling out a chair? Send your answers to the same set of questions with a profile pic and one web link to jan@janruth.com

Leave a Reply

