In The Chair 43

Welcome, Lauren Scharhag.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words? 

Lauren: Disciplined. Evocative. Chameleonic.

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Lauren: Ha! What makes you think I don’t already? I feel like the story doesn’t come to life until the characters do. Most of the time, my characters dominate my head, which is okay. I kinda like their constant chatter. But if we’re talking about characters that I wish were living, breathing people, I’d have to say Christophe and Leopold, who first appear in the third book of The Order of the Four Sons series. They’re lifelong best friends. Basically, they have all the traits I admire: brilliant, kind, witty, resourceful, generous, courageous, loyal. Also, they can use magic. They could teach me.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Lauren: The Order of the Four Sons series is about a group of characters who get sucked through a series of interdimensional gates, so living in any one of those books would mean that it’s always possible to stumble into another world. Which appeals to the side of me that adores travel and novelty. But pretty much all of the characters in that story lead very dangerous lives. So am I a huge chicken for saying I think I’d prefer to watch from the sidelines? Of course, in my books, even that’s not necessarily a guarantee of safety. 

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

ScharhagLauren: Ooooh, I love to cook and entertain. I would throw a huge party and invite: Lewis Carroll, Edgar Allan Poe, H.P. Lovecraft, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Bram Stoker, Mary Shelley, J.R.R. Tolkien, Hans Christian Andersen, the Brothers Grimm, J.K. Rowling, C.S. Lewis, Neil Gaiman and Stephen King. For hors d’oeuvres, there would be sardines on toast. There would be Cthulhu calamari, lobstrosity-stuffed mushrooms, mini mince pies and gunslinger burritos (carne asada wrapped in lettuce leaves). The main course would be would be simple and hardy roast chicken with carrots and potatoes (recipe approved by hobbits and house elves alike). There would be homemade breads with an assortment of jams and cheeses. There would be tea, of course, as well as absinthe, amontillado, Butterbeer and regular beer too. All the drinks would have “Drink Me” labels.

For dessert, all the cakes would be decorated with rose petals and have “Eat Me” iced on them. I would also have custards and trifles, blood orange sorbet, Turkish delight, Snow White candied apples, Snow Queen shaved ice cones and Harry Potter’s favorite treacle tart. After dinner, of course, I’d have pipe tobacco and hookahs ready for those who wish to partake…

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Lauren: Actually, I already write in multiple genres. So far, I’ve written children’s books, poetry, sci-fi/fantasy, horror and literary fiction. I’m an omnivore when it comes to reading too—I think that good literature transcends genre. It’s one of the best things about being an indie/small press author. There are no constraints. If I get an idea for a mystery, thriller, romance or anything else, I will write it. 

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Lauren: Marketing. I know I’m not alone on that—it’s so time-consuming, going out and plugging your work on social media, attending events, networking. I’d rather be writing.

The Order Of The Four Sons Book I Cover

Lauren Scharhag was in the chair, author of: The Order of the Four Sons, Book One; releasing September 25th 2015

Web: http://www.laurenscharhag.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

