In The Chair 29

Welcome, Jerome Mark Antil.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Jerome: Lighthearted, Nostalgia, Family. 

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Jerome: In my book series – The Pompey Hollow Book Club – my characters are all real people – some combined in nature, some standing alone.  The tales and adventures are based on some foundation of truth – getting taller in the telling. My historical backdrops are painstakingly researched and detailed for accuracy…typically about the family farm country in the shadows of WWII.  Add to that the fact, I grew up in that time.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Jerome: I am a central character in my series – so I would enjoy staying that person. He’s a lad who moved from a city, at the age of nine, to a heavily wooded, farm area — and who seemed to constantly trip into new experiences and adventures just learning how to cope.

883

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Jerome: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle; John Steinbeck; Ernest Hemingway; Dwight David Eisenhower and Winston Churchill.  I would serve brandy…and sit and listen.

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Jerome: I call my work historical fiction – lighthearted nostalgia.  I suppose I would like to create a Holmes or a Poirot or Mrs. Fisher.  I enjoy a tangled web of surprises.

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Jerome: That I didn’t begin many years ago…although I wouldn’t have been properly aged for the task, I suppose.

 Favourite word? 

Jerome: Yes.

Jerome Mark Antil was in the chair: Author of the YA series – The Pompey Hollow Book Club. The Long Stem is in the Lobby, (memoir) & A Handbook for Weekend Dad’s (non-fiction). Published by Little York Books.

Web: www.jeromemarkantil.com

41NW-dCaUgL._UY250_51xb1Rx4uRL._UY250_31XYsykxDQL._UY250_41BbKsS47WL._UY250_

Leave a Reply

