In The Chair 23

Welcome, Jenny Kane.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Jenny: Friendly, concise, relatable 

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Jenny: The characters in my Another Cup of… series are all based on people I know, so I have (sort of) had relationships with some of them! I married ‘Phil’ and I dated ‘Jack’ for ages!! Of my fictional characters it would have to be the decorator Max from my new novel, Abi’s House. He is a gentle giant, and kind to the core. Kindness will always be a winner with me.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Jenny: It would have to be Another Cup of Coffee. I spend a great deal of my life in coffee shops. I write all my books in a cafe, and also I run a coffee shop blog. Cafe customers are a constant source of writing inspiration, I can’t imagine creating my novels anywhere else.
I’d love to sit on the sidelines in Pickwicks Coffee House, just being a customer who observes the comings and goings between Kit, Amy, Megan and the gang.

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Jenny Kane

Jenny: It would have to be Robert Folville- but I’d make sure I have a bodyguard on standby! Robert Folville and his family were Fourteenth Century nobles who were retained to commit crimes in return for money or power. They were- if my own research into them can be trusted – the inspiration behind the legend of Robin Hood. I would love to ask Robert if my research was correct! I’d serve a meat buffet that could be eaten with the fingers alone. Knives and forks, or indeed anything that could be used as a weapon, would be a bad idea.


If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?
Jenny: That’s a tricky question as I already write children’s picture books (with Ryan Doherty) and erotica (as Kay Jaybee). I’d love to move into historical fiction one day. I had a taste of writing a medieval murder within Romancing Robin Hood, and I enjoyed every second of it. It was difficult though. Plotting a murder on paper is a little like doing a very complicated jigsaw from the middle outwards.

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Jenny: The assumption that writer’s are rich. I wish!!

Favourite word?

Jenny: Delicious

Jenny Kane was in the chair: Author of the contemporary romance novels Abi’s House, Romancing Robin Hood, and the Another Cup of Coffee series. Published by Accent Press.

Web: www.jennykane.co.uk

11039197_817878594957717_2227300810552753947_n

4 thoughts on “In The Chair 23

  1. Fab Jan, thanks for hosting Jenny who is such a supporter of other writers. I have been her guest recently, it was such a laugh. Such an interesting writer and blogger. Loved her answers. Wishing her well. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

