In The Chair 22

Welcome, Ian Andrew.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Ian: Precise, Pictorial, Pacy.

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Ian: Mary Reid from A Time to Every Purpose, what’s not to like about a drop dead gorgeous psychopath with a good heart? But if wanting a more stable relationship it would have to be Tien Tran from the Wright & Tran series. Intelligent, caring, nurturing, pretty and heroic.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Ian: I’d have to be a member of Kara Wright’s team in Face Value or in the (yet to be written) rest of the Wright & Tran novels. I think I’d be able to contribute enough to be useful and I think Kara is an engaging leader I’d be happy to follow.

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Ian: Perhaps predictable but Shakespeare is a given.  Then Michael Connelly, Philip Pullman, John Marsden, Suzanne Collins & Agatha Christie. If I can include fictional characters I’d ask them each to bring their favourite invention and hope they would choose Kathryn, Bosch, Lyra, Elle, Katniss and Miss Marple. I’d also invite Erin Kaye and Amanda McKittrick-Ros as they are both from the same town as I am and Erin and I were in the same year in Primary School. As for food, would have to be a finger buffet with everything from cucumber sandwiches for Agatha through to half a boar for William.

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Ian: I’d like to try children’s books. In fact I have a few ideas and perhaps one day I’ll try to write it. But I could think of nothing better than to be the first book that a child reads and be the inspiration for them to read more.

image1

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Ian: The marketing. As an independent author I am marketeer, agent, publicist, editor and author. Most is fine but the marketing is definitely my least favourite.

Favourite word?

Ian: I want to put that most versatile of swear words but if I am to pick a non-swear word and to have it chosen for meaning then I will still stick to four letters. I think the word FAIR sums up how I would wish to see the world and how I would like the people of the planet to behave. For pure sound and shape and rhythm I’d have to pick discombobulated. Which I often am.

Ian Andrew was in the chair: author of the alternative history thriller ‘A Time to Every Purpose’ and ‘Face Value’ the first of the Wright and Tran detective stories.

http://www.amazon.com/Ian-Andrew/e/B00IOXOQE6

11406440_706337166161297_4282451164838010129_o

Leave a Reply

