In The Chair 21

Welcome, Vivienne Tuffnell

How would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Vivienne: Sensuous, poetic, intelligent (don’t laugh; I really did hesitate with that one).

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Vivienne: By relationship, I assume you mean the romantic sort? None. But I’d very much have liked to be a mentor and friend to Antony Ashurst from The Bet. He’s someone who needs all the friends he can get. And no, knowing him as well as I do, I’d never be tempted to jump his bones.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Vivienne: Probably Away With The Fairies so I can have a week at Isobel’s cottage to sort out my own issues. Scrub that, I’d need a month. Or a lifetime.
I couldn’t live through The Bet, because it would be too hard to watch. I lived through certain elements of Square Peg for real. Strangers and Pilgrims, then. I’d enjoy being a fly on the wall there, as perhaps a friend of Mark’s, assisting him.

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Vivienne: Dion Fortune, Carl Gustav Jung, J.R.R Tolkien, Philippa Rees (fantastic poet and a many-talented lady), Suzie Grogan (history writer) and Gerard Manley Hopkins. I’d serve a buffet of all sorts of finger food so we could nibble and chat rather than have a hot meal going cold. But good wine, beer and all sorts of interesting spirits.

Viv as pirate 2

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Vivienne: I don’t tend to conform to genre anyway but write whatever comes. As a teenager I wrote a lot of murder mysteries in homage to Agatha Christie. If someone held a gun to my head, I could do that again. Probably. If the gun were loaded.

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Vivienne: I imagine almost everyone has said marketing already. I hate that I cannot seem to separate my self worth from my sales. Low sales = low self worth. Stupid but true.

Favourite word?

Vivienne: A German one: Sehnsucht. I love the sound of the word and the world of meaning it contains; it sums up in one word something I’ve felt my whole life. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sehnsucht

Vivienne Tuffnell is the author of several novels which explore psychology and the metaphysical

Web: Blog: https://zenandtheartoftightropewalking.wordpress.com/

51sN0oQcRxL._UY250_51lK33ZZGxL._UY250_51JlQ9LTvIL._UY250_51uTFKC7NEL._UY250_

41hbZhsUisL._UY250_41p1HlGvcfL._UY250_41EIU-SI8OL._UY250_51Opw98F08L._UY250_

9 thoughts on “In The Chair 21

  1. Reblogged this on Brainfluff and commented:
    I’ve reblogged this intriguing interview with talented writer Vivienne Tuffnell because I thought it was exactly the right length – and I LOVE her word – sehnsucht. It deserves to be far better known, as does Viv.

    Like

Leave a Reply

