In The Chair 17

Welcome, Gillian Hamer.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Gillian: Thrilling, gripping, tight.

SONY DSC

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Gillian:  Probably Dara Brennan – my DS in The Gold Detectives series. He’s a good man at heart, with many layers and lots of baggage, but there’s a vulnerability in his strength which really touches me. I think he’d be a good boyfriend and a soul mate – if he could only meet the right woman!

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Gillian: I’d like to get right involved in the action in the historical thread in my novel, Complicit. To go back to the past and be a part of the Roman invasion of the island of Anglesey would be amazing. I’m fascinated by the Roman Empire and I’d jump at the chance to be part of it for a short time.

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Gillian: Agatha Christie, Terry Pratchett, JK Rowling and Stephen Fry. Traditional English food – let’s go for a posh Carvery!

 If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why? 

Gillian: I’d really like to try Historical Fiction one day. I love reading period novels – be that WWII and Sarah Waters or Tudor period and Hilary Mantel. I also love research so it’s definitely something on my to-do list.

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

Gillian: Marketing in a word. I resent the amount of time marketing and social media eat away at my writing time. But there are so many other things I love about being an author that balance out the negatives, I’m happy to put up with it!

Favourite word?

Gillian: Would it sound very wrong as a writer not to have a real favourite word? I probably have words that I over use a lot but not that they’re necessarily a favourite. Does ‘wine’ or ‘chocolate’ count??

Gillian Hamer was in the chair: Author of Crimson Shore, The Charter, Complicit, Closure.

Web: www.gillianhamer.com

41Kl3vJ9zZL._AA160_4154giPbYLL._AA160_41ylwTDVy0L._AA160_41o14W69PCL._AA160_

Leave a Reply

