In The Chair 16

Welcome, Lesley Cookman.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words? 

Lesley: Chatty. Rambling. Jolly.

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Lesley: When I started writing this series, Ben Wilde looked a lot like Paul Freeman the actor, whom I quite fancied. (as an older man, of course. Ahem.) But subsequently, like a lot of my readers, I’ve quite fallen for DCI Ian Connell.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Lesley: I’d quite like to have spent a week on the Isle of Wight in Murder In A Different Place, but I’d be sitting on the sidelines.

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Lesley: Ngaio Marsh, John Dickson Carr, P G Wodehouse, Paul O’Grady, Michael Innes, Margery Allingham and Dorothy Sayers. (Name the odd one out.) It would have to be a traditional English dinner – roast beef, probably.

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Lesley: I’d like to try an adult fairy story – very dark and gruesome. I’ve been thinking about it for years, but never had the courage to try it. I’ve always loved Authur Rackham’s illustrations which I think inspired me in the first place, but instead, I write grown up children’s adventure stories. As one reviewer said some years ago “Famous Five with gin instead of ginger beer.” He meant it as an insult. I took it as a compliment.

10850317_10152964613401468_819883073169599032_n

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Lesley: The need for self-discipline!

Favourite word?  Lesley: Ineffable

Lesley Cookman was in the chair: author of the Libby Sargeant Murder Mystery series. Published by Accent Press.

Web: http://www.lesleycookman.co.uk/

11150442_936249366395522_5893137513717121019_n

2 thoughts on “In The Chair 16

Leave a Reply

