In The Chair 12

Welcome, Alice Raine.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Alice: Humorous. Expressive. Sexy.
(I asked my husband and he replied Smut, Smut and Smut).

11377274_846296885454623_8396144851526442251_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Alice: If we are talking platonic, then I’d go with Caitlin, a character in the Revealed series I am currently writing, because she is loyal, funny, strong and caring. She’d make a great best friend and I could imagine many a good night out would be had. If you mean relationship as in a physical one / love, then it would have to be Jack, he’s another character from the new series not yet revealed to the world – a slightly older, tall, broad, protective hunk of a man, and of course charming and handsome to boot!

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Alice: Hmm… that’s a tricky one. I think actually I’d quite like to share a bit of time in London with the Jackson brothers in my Untwisted series. Don’t get me wrong – I wouldn’t necessarily want to ‘be’ with them as they are a fairly intense, dominant duo, but to experience the world they live in as a spectator might be quite fun. And no doubt a bit of an eye-opener!

IMG_6337 view contrast

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Alice: Guests… I would need a large table: I think for perverse curiosity I would like Edgar Allan Poe at the head of the table to recite his poem ‘The Raven’ to get us all started (or should that be ‘startled’!!) Stephen Fry would be next to him, just because he is, well, the Stephen Fry, and would no doubt make a fabulously interesting and witty guest. Michael Palin would be on one side of me so I could pick his brains about the best travel destinations in the world (and because I love his gentle, dry humour). Jane Austin would be there, and would hopefully have the dashing Mr Darcy with her as her ‘plus one’ – who would of course be seated on the other side on me. Maya Angelou would feature because I have huge respect for what she did for the civil rights movement and Harper Lee could have an invite for historic interest (and because she would no doubt get on well with Maya). I also think that because of the genre I write I would love to have Accent Press’s Kay Jaybee there so we could discuss all things saucy, and to finish the table I would seat Graham Norton (yes, he has written several books!) at the other end because I’m sure there would never be a dull moment with him in the room!

Food wise, I would definitely serve something from the Far East as I love pretty much all cuisines from that part of the world. I was lucky enough to have cookery lessons in Thailand from an amazing local lady who taught me to make a pretty good Penang curry, so perhaps I’d serve that, with a fresh and zesty papaya salad on the side. Come prepared for chilli, because I like my food spicy!

 If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

IMG_6403white

Alice: That’s a tricky one, because although I have been published with my erotic books, my laptop is stuffed with story ideas that span a huge variety of genres – I’ve written everything from teenage paranormal stories to gentle real life comedies, some of which I hope might see the light of day at some point. I would also veer towards historical novels too, because I have a degree in Archaeology and love all things ancient – particularly from the Roman period.

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Alice: The self-doubt is a fairly big dislike, but then again, constantly asking myself ‘Is it good enough?’ does at least push me to always strive to be better. I also have a large dislike for proof reading my own work. Ugh, I hate it! I can read someone else’s work and spot mistakes a mile off, but as soon as it comes to my writing I read right over the errors. I think I fall into the category of reading what I think should be there, not reading what is actually there!

Favourite word?

Alice:  Bibliobibuli. Try saying that after a glass of wine! (It refers to those who read to much!!)

Alice Raine was in the naughty chair: Author of the Untwisted Series, published by Accent Press.

Web: www.aliceraineauthor.com

10888931_1524957377783517_3993132779420449545_n

 

3 thoughts on “In The Chair 12

  1. The dinner party sounds a riot. I’d love to be a fly on the wall. Fab finding out all about your writing and those pieces yet to see the light of day. I wish I’d studied Archaeology – I love it so much. Wishing you much success. Thanks Jan and Alice. Fab.

    Like

Leave a Reply

