In The Chair 9

Welcome, Richard Gould.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Richard: Funny. Thoughtful. Genre-jumping.

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Richard: Bridget from A Street Café Named Desire. She’s independent, feisty, arty and has transformed since school years from ugly duckling to a beautiful white swan by the time she’s in the novel.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Richard: I’d like to drop into The Engagement Party as an observer flitting between several locations. The book is set over a week and a day, so I hope that’s allowed. If not, I’d settle for the day of the party when chaos erupts.

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Richard: I’d like Paul Merton because I think he’s so funny. I’d add Charlie Chaplin (post Modern Times when he gets political), Basil Rathbone (distant relative), Peter Weir (love his films), Steven Spielberg (his too), Sarah Waters (I gasped aloud when I read Fingersmith), Virginia Woolf (to see if I have any idea what she’s on about), Nicole Kidman (a man thing), Natalie Merchant (great music), Cleopatra (to make up the numbers). I’d cook tuna with hot salsa and noodles, fresh fruit salad for desert.

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

photo R J Gould

Richard: Literary fiction – a deep and meaningful tale, though I do try to be a touch meaningful in my flippant romantic comedies!

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Richard: Marketing, including what all I can see (unless you’re famous) as a hollow numbers game on twitter.

Favourite word? Richard: Blisslessness – made up but I like it.

R .J.Gould was in the chair: Author of ‘The Engagement Party’ and ‘A Street Cafe Named Desire.’ Published by Accent Press.

Web:  http://www.rjgould.info

e44310_7d7863e8446944b2875ef1780375ae6d.png_srz_p_748_377_75_22_0.50_1.20_0

Leave a Reply

