In The Chair 4

Welcome, Laura Wilkinson.

How would you describe your writing style in only three words?

Laura: Vivid, muscular, touching.

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Laura: As in love relationship? Or platonic? Platonic – Mandy from Public Battles, Private Wars. She’s funny and hard-working and ballsy. I like that in a woman. Love? Joe from my forthcoming novel (January 2016) Redemption Song because he puts his neck on the line for those he loves. And he’s incredibly sexy.

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one would it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Laura: The one I’m working on now: Skin Deep (pencilled for Jan 2017). It’s set in Manchester and London and spans twenty years. It follows a beautiful artist, Diana, and is interwoven with the story of Cal, a deformed boy. Both are seeking love and purpose, trying to find acceptance and their place in a world fixated with image. From the sidelines – I’m an author; we like to observe.

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Laura: I’m a terrible cook so I’d have to hire caterers – I’d go for Vietnamese, which I adore. Guests … A table for twelve: Jeanette Winterson, Ernest Hemingway (see those sparks flying already?), Kurt Vonnegut, Jane Austen, Margaret Atwood, Tolstoy, Will Self, Jenn Ashworth, Bernice Rubens, Iain Banks, Angela Carter, AS Byatt.

No 1 - dark, smile

If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Laura: Historical, because to understand our present we must first understand our past.

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Laura: The self-doubt. That garrulous little sod sitting on my shoulder as I write telling me it’s all crap. Though I owe her/him a lot – s/he forces me to stretch myself. Complacency is the real enemy.

Favourite word?

Laura: Flibbertigibit.

Laura Wilkinson was in the chair: Cornerstones editor, writing coach and Author of ‘Public Battles, Private Wars.’

Web: laura-wilkinson.co.uk

487581_259064504253628_1228339160_n 

2 thoughts on “In The Chair 4

Leave a Reply

