In The Chair 1

Welcome, Kirsten McKenzie

How would you describe your writing style in only three words? 

Kirsten: Autobiographical. Historical. Emotional

11102784_844407928976852_7866671121152746412_n

If you could have a relationship with one of your fictional characters who would it be and why?

Kirsten: A hard question! I wrote a few ‘ideal’ men into ‘Fifteen Postcards’ to encourage the reader to follow all the red herrings! But Maybe Major Warren Brooke. There is nothing quite as attractive as a man in uniform!

If you had to exist for a week in one of your books … which one it be? Would you be a central character or simply watch the story unfold from the sidelines?

Kirsten: I’d exist in the Victorian time stream from ‘Fifteen Postcards’. The clothing, the debauchery, the disparity between upstairs and downstairs, and the antiques! Oh my the antiques in their pristine brand new state. I’d be in heaven. I think I’d like to be an antique dealer even then!

Dead or alive literary dinner party: who would you invite, and what would you serve?

Kirsten: I’d invite Margaret Mitchell and Hemingway. Hopefully they’d get on, but I imagine the conversation would be stimulating! I’d have to serve the food I’m confident of cooking! Fish or seafood of some description, with a decadent dessert which takes ages to eat, and is best followed by liqueurs! That way the dinner party would carry on all night.

Kirsten-McKenzie-Monarch-03If you had to write in a different genre which would it be and why?

Kirsten: I’d like to try my hand at fantasy. I am a huge fan of the Game of Thrones series, and if my nightmares are anything to go on I have some great raw material, but incorporating dragons & other worldly creatures would be a stretch for me. Something to aim for.

What do you dislike the most about being an author?

Kirsten: Distractions. I am easily distracted by friends on Twitter and Facebook!

Favourite word? Kirsten: Happy

Kirsten McKenzie was in the chair: author of ‘Fifteen Postcards’ published by Accent Press May 2015

myBook.to/FifteenPostcards

FB Kindle new release template

6 thoughts on “In The Chair 1

Leave a Reply

